OPI: Stranger Tides & Sit Under The Apple Tree

I feel awful for my absence the past week! I have been apartment searching and it has eaten up any ounce of down time I’ve had. Luckily, it’s over and I can get back to taking care of my nails.

I found Sit Under The Apple Tree (hate this name) on clearance at Ulta recently. It’s originally from OPI’s Retro collection in 2009. It’s rather sheer so I knew I wanted to layer it. I’m very satisfied with this outcome, I’ve been admiring it all day.

Pretty pale, shimmery green combination

I knew I wanted an opaque base for this manicure and a number of base colors would work well with layering Sit Under The Apple Tree. I picked the pale, grey-ed out sage Stranger Tides. SUTAT is very pretty and delicate for a yellow / green shimmer. The micro-shimmer is so fine and dense that it really covered my nail well with one coat. It looks gorgeous and cheerful in the sunlight. Somewhat “springy” because it’s a yellow-toned green. There’s definitely a brighter cast of green that comes out when it’s applied, but it worked perfectly with ST.

Easy application and pretty outcome

I used two coats of ST and everything was opaque and streak-free. It also dried quickly. On top of that, I only needed one coat of SUTAT to get a good amount of shimmer and color. Of course, applying another layer would bump it up even more. I think SUTAT would look good layered over a lot of different colors. Neutrals, green, yellow..maybe even black.

Where to Buy Stranger Tides: Online Retailers / $ 5 – $ 8

Where To Buy Sit Under The Apple Tree: Online Retailers / $ 4 – $ 8

Do you own Sit Under The Apple Tree? Do you like layering sheer shimmery polishes over cremes? If not, what’s your favorite way to wear them? Do you want to pick up SUTAT?

– Liz

3 Comments

Filed under OPI

3 responses to “OPI: Stranger Tides & Sit Under The Apple Tree

  1. This polish was entirely new to me,or, rather I seem to have missed all of the Retro collection.Wonder why. I’ll check it out.

    I really love layering sheers(or anything, really) over cremes(also, anything, really) I just don’t think of it as often as i would like. I just did one layering combo though, I’m on the night shift and it’s been slower than usual these past few weeks. Thank God I should say-the storms and extreme weather around Christmas was a bit exhausting, really. :O

    • Hey Sparris!
      There wasn’t too many exciting polishes in this collection, but I found this one for 5 bucks, and said why not. It’s really pretty and I’m glad I picked it up!
      I’m not a huge layering person. I like an all in one type of polish because I don’t normally have time or energy for more than that.
      I’m glad you’re getting a bit of a break! I know I’ve been exhausted from work too!

  2. Ally

    This combo is so pretty! I really love the way it looks. I typically don’t like to layer unless my polish starts chipping and I’m too lazy/don’t have enough time to do a new mani. I’ve never even seen this polish before, it’s very pretty!

    Hope apartment hunting went well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

