Deborah Lippmann: I Know What Boys Like

When I first saw this summer 2011 color come out, I knew I was going to love it. I loved how it has this really beautiful balance of both blue and purple. I had been meaning to pick it up for months now, but just recently got around to it. And I’m not disappointed at all.

I will throw in the disclaimer that my camera did (like it does with all blurples) made this look more blue than it actually is. Not drastically, but noticeable to me. I’m sorry. It sucks, I know.

Less blue in real life

I Know What Boys Like (fun name) has this harmonious balance of blue and purple. Although it’s basically a medium toned blurple creme, it’s not boring at all. It’s periwinkle-ish, but with a punch. The color is so interesting naturally. Is it purple? Is it blue? I will say that on me, it does lean more blue, but not by much. It’s feminine and pretty, but has a uniqueness to it from the blend of colors. It’s really cool.

Prefect, shiny half creme half jelly finish

The first coat of this polish did not go on so great, but by the second one it looked absolutely perfect. It was very saturated, smooth, and shiny. I only needed two coats. It’s one of ever popular half creme half jelly formulas. It also had a good drying time and wore decently on me.

Where to Buy: Nordstrom’s / Neiman Marcus / DeborahLippmann.com / $ 16

What are your thoughts? Do you like this blurple? Or does it not look that special to you? How did you feel about the rest of DL’s Summer 2011 collection? I liked all the colors for sure.

– Liz

5 Comments

Filed under Deborah Lippmann

5 responses to “Deborah Lippmann: I Know What Boys Like

  1. beachgal

    I am so glad that you told us that it’s a mix of blue and purple and that it photos ‘way’ blue. I have not see it in person ever. If I buy DL I have to get it based on the swatches on line. I did not get this one because I thought it was just another royal blue and nothing unique at all. Now I really want to see it and pick it up maybe without seeing it because you told us what the color REALLY is. It always photographs like an ordinary bright blue, a tad lighter than a bright royal blue. Had no idea it had equal part purple in it until now! Thanks ever so much!

    • No problem! I’m really disappointed that the photos didn’t come out exactly right. I feel like I’m cheating you guys, but if they weren’t close I wouldn’t have posted them. It’s definately not a royal blue by any means. It’s so pretty. If I had to say, it’s almost periwinkle.

      • beachgal

        Everyone’s photos have come out blue on this one – so don’t feel frustrated. I have looked at the photos for months now on line and just thought it was another blue cream! Oh so not now I find out. Rushing to get it!

  2. Ally

    I love this color!! I’ve seen a bunch of swatches of it and I really really want it. I lovee blurples- this one looks like a good one!

    • This one is awesome! Totally one of my new favorites (along with that Urban Outfitters one). You seriously need it at some point. I don’t think it’s LE, so you’ll be able to pick it up whenever.

Leave a Reply

