OPI Pirates of the Caribbean: Stranger Tides

Wow. Let me start off by saying I hope, or actually I know, that everyone else has been having a better week than I have. Chicago had a crazy storm about 3 days ago and Death by Polish’s headquarters (aka my house) was left with no electricity or water until 10 pm last night. A total nightmare to say the least.

At any rate, Stranger Tides is a polish I wore a couple weeks back that took me pleasantly by surprise.

Muted sage greyish green

As you may know, this polish is a very light, muted sage green. This was the first color from the Pirates collection I was drawn to. I think this color would look great on almost everyone, but it did think it looked particularly nice with my newly tanned skin. It reads a neutral but when you noticed it wasn’t, it added a nice little surprise. It was really pretty and I enjoyed wearing it.

A pretty outcome but not the greatest formula

The formula on this polish wasn’t great. It was streaky and slightly annoying to apply, but not awful. I did need three coats to even everything out. I have heard bloggers mention that Essie’s Da Bush is a dupe with a better formula, if that’s an issue for you. Sometimes I get annoyed with OPI when their creme formulas aren’t easy to work with. I feel like they should have that figured out, haha.

This is one of the very few polishes I own that I actually got a couple of compliments on. Which doesn’t happen very often to me (seriously it does not) and when it does I get really excited. So more points to Stranger Tides for that.

Where to Buy: Ulta / JCPenny / Trade Secret / Online Retailers / Professional Salons / $ 8

– Liz

1 Comment

Filed under OPI

One response to “OPI Pirates of the Caribbean: Stranger Tides

  1. beachgal

    I know I am in the minority but I just did not like this collection at all. It did not warm up on me either when I looked at it in person about 5 times over which usually I weaken at the knees and come home with 2 or 3 at least out of a collection just sitting there new and needing a home. I don’t seem to wear the more chalky light shades I have so why would I want more? And that’s just still were I am with this collection. The pink and lavender were not enough of interest for me despite they were the darker hues in the collection to jump in my bag…I did think about Planks A Lot – a lot. but even a good polish seller talked me out of it and she needed to sell!

Leave a Reply

