Essie: Demure Vixen

Believe it or not, this is one of my favorite polishes in my collection. We have already blogged it on Death by Polish, but I wanted to write about it personally since I do really love it.

Demure Vixen was part of Essie’s Summer 2010 collection. The bright, violet microshimer flash in this polish is incredible. And I think the name of this color captures everything that it is. It’s reserved, but sexy.

Purple flash in the sun

Demure Vixen’s base color is pretty, interesting and kind of hard to describe.  It’s an edgy neutral that mixes beige / taupe , mauve, and even pink. Even if this color didn’t have the purple flash, I think it would still be a great color because it’s hard to describe. But the violet flash is something really unexpected, especially for Essie, and is awesome. It has the contrast of pretty and cool. It’s a juxtaposition that really works well.

Demure Vixen

Another thing I like about this polish is that you can build up the color easily, or wear it more sheer with just one coat. It becomes quiet opaque after three coats. The formula is a little thin, but is really easy to apply and manage. The one downside is, well, I would take more violet flash in this polish. It’s noticeable in the sunlight, but does disappear indoors. It doesn’t bother me really, but just something I would like more of.

Where to Buy: Online Retailers / $5 – $8

Were you surprised by Demure Vixen last summer? Or did it not do it for you? I know Pretty Edgy was the main attraction of this collection, but I think Demure Vixen was a show stopper.

– Liz

Leave a comment

Filed under Essie

Leave a Reply

