OPI Pirates of the Caribbean: Mermaid’s Tears

First of all, I think this polish name is really cool and not too cheesy like some of the other ones in this collection.

And for some reason, I’m pretty interested in some of the OPI Pirates of the Caribbean polishes. Although they seem somewhat typical at first glance, they aren’t. They all have a bit of dustiness and a bit of dirtiness to them which is appealing to someone like me who normally doesn’t gravitate toward pastels.

Dusty sea foamy green

Mermaid’s Tears is not your typical sea-foam green. It’s a bit dingy and less saturated than all of those other minty / sea-foam greens you already own. I actually love it. The muted color is so pretty. The color is tweaked just the slightest bit, but it adds a big difference and allows this color to be more relaxed and polished.

Glossy

The formula and application on this color was great. It went on very smoothly. It also evened itself out very nicely after the second coat. It seems to be one of those half creme / half jelly hybrids, which sometimes needs three coats to even out, but this one was great in two and dried quickly.

Mermaid's Tears VS Turquoise & Caicos

Here you can tell that Mermaid’s Tears is a bit more greyed out that Turquoise & Caicos. It looks more grown up and less minty than the typical sea-foam green, which I feel is a great change.

Where to Buy: Ulta / JCPenny / Dillard’s / Trade Secret / Salons / $ 8.50

A lot of us polish collectors are suckers for sea-foam greens and they are all the same, but Mermaid’s Tears offers something different that makes it worthy of getting. I really like it!

How are you guys feeling about the Pirates of the Caribbean colors? A little bit let down or do you like them? Did Mermaid’s Tears suck you in?

– Liz

6 Comments

Filed under OPI

6 responses to “OPI Pirates of the Caribbean: Mermaid’s Tears

  1. Rachel

    I’m crying Mermaid’s Tears all over this polish… I love it! I happen to be wearing it on my hands right now too! 😉

    Since my theme of this summer is to be an actual mermaid, I think this polish is great. I really enjoyed the names for most of the polishes from this collection and I plan on getting a lot of them as well. There’s just something special and different about these polishes. It’s exactly what I’ve wanted to see from a new summer collection. Except this is the first collection to do it. So far, my first “must have” of the season!

    • No crying at polish!

      I also enjoyed how this polish looked good on you and me even though our skin tones are pretty different, especially currently. It seems like a total winner. I bet the rest of them will be as well.

      Even though I was with you when you wrote this I just read now and am sad!!

  2. I must admit, I’ve got it bad for greens in general. But Mermaids Tears is really pulling at me like a siren’s song. The collection seems to be hit or miss for me. Some seem dupey, while others are absolute gems.

  3. I’ve been a sucker for this type of green since MISA’s Dirty Sexy Money, I want them all! They’re just so incredibly soothing. 🙂
    My bottle is on its way, along with Stranger Tides(perhaps that’s the one similar to Da Bush?)

Leave a Reply

