OPI: Houston We Have a Purple & Sally Hansen: Hidden Treasure

I was looking at some Nfu Oh swatches last night. Now, I know this may sound a little crazy to some of you, but I haven’t ever been super interested in getting my hands on any. One thing for me is that the bottles are a major turn off, and it’s always a pain when I can’t get my hands on polishes without ordering online.

But Nfu Of 51 gave me an idea. I know lots of polish heads love flakies and jellies. I thought I should use Hidden Treasure, which I don’t use that often, and try it layered with a Texas OPI sorbet. Not put Hidden Treasure over, but under!!

Houston We Have a Purple OVER Hidden Treasure. Flakies!

I don’t layer polishes all that much, but last night did a little experiment to see how this would turn out. I used HT as the base and did two coats, which made this easier because HT is a complete salon manicure polish so I cut out using a base coat. Then I applied two coats of OPI Houston We Have a Purple.

Flakes coming through

I was SO surprised that I liked this outcome as much as I do. I was just going to do 4 fingers for a swatch to blog, but ended up doing all my fingers! This manicure is also pretty flexible, meaning that you could do 3 coats of HT as the base for even more flakies coming through. More or less for your taste. I used 2 coats, and it’s a subtle, yet still noticeable look. If you use a lighter color than this over HT, it would shine through even more.

Pretty!

I picked Houston We Have a Purple because I didn’t love this polish on my first go around (this polish is basically a fushica pink NOT purple!), but thought the warm red-based purple work really well with the warm toned flakes that are in HT. Any sorbet, or jelly, would work really easily with this combo, but I didn’t feel like a big contrast between warm and cool tones. Just a preference.

I like that instead of putting HT on top of Houston We Have a Purple, the fact that it’s underneath the polish makes it look like the flakes are IN the polish. It gives it so much more depth rather than just sitting on top. This manicure did take a while to dry for some reason. And I noticed that my HT smelled really strong and gave me the worst headache!

Where to Buy: Houston We Have a Purple / Ulta / JCPenny / Dillard’s / Trade Secret $ 8. 50

Hidden Treasure / Good luck! You could look for some other flakie top coats that look just like HT. Same thing.

What do you guys think? It’s a winner, am I right?! I feel so proud of this manicure, haha!

– Liz

9 Comments

Filed under OPI, Sally Hansen

9 responses to “OPI: Houston We Have a Purple & Sally Hansen: Hidden Treasure

  1. This looks really pretty! I have two Nfu-Ohs and I never use them cause I’m lazy and never get around to layering. 😦

  2. Wow! That is such a creative idea and I haven’t seen anyone do that and it looks AMAZINGGGG! 🙂 Makes me want to actually get the sorbet colors from OPI. All I have from that collection is I Vant to Be a Lone Star and It’s Totally Forth Worth it.. I think lol. Great job ♥

    • Thank you!! I’m really surprised by how cool it looks, and how much I like the combination.

      I really like all the sorbets from the collection. The formula is perfection. You should get one and try this out!
      – Liz

  3. Rachel

    Girl, you are so creative.

  4. Fab combo! And I do agree about Nfu Oh bottles-to me they’re just…tacky :O

  5. Pingback: OPI Y’all Come Back Ya Hear? and Sally Hansen Complete Manicure Hidden Treasure | DEATH BY POLISH pick your poison

Leave a Reply

