Trader Joe’s Regenerating Antioxidant Moisturizing Face Lotion

Regenerating Antioxidant Moisturizer

I was eyeballing this at Trader Joe’s recently and had to pick it up. And after the first night I used this Regenerating Antioxidant Moisturizing Face Lotion (4 OZ), I wanted to gush about it to all of you, but made myself use it for a full week and then report back to you guys.

First of all, the packaging is cute. And I love anything with antioxidants. Tea, multivitamins, lotions, etc. And then, when you get past the packaging, the label on the front reads this enticing little snippet:

“Combines the antioxidant Ester C, a collagen-stimulating and cell renewing formula. May help reverse sun damage and reduce appearance of fine lines.”

Sounds good, right??

This lotion has a lot to offer. I have used moisturizers with antioxidants before, but none with this specific Ester C, from vitamin C before. The first night I used this after my doctor prescribed topical treatments, I had no extra irritation, redness, etc. And my skin felt extra nice! Smooth, hydrated, and soft. I have been using this product as my night moisturizer,  and when I wake up in the morning my face is still hydrated and feeling smooth. Though, my skin has been going through a great transformation thanks to my Clarisonic, I think this moisturizer is adding to the overall very positive place my skin is at.

Though, I have yet to notice any needs for anti-aging products for my skin, (I’m soon to  be 23 years old and I’m sure it’s looming) and I think this product still has a lot to offer to me. Yes, there have been times where I didn’t wear sunscreen out at the beach and more so, who is really opposed to something that claims “collagen stimulation, cell renewal, and may help reverse sun damage”?! Ester C, from vitamin C, has been documented to help both with all of these issues, so if you’re interested in these topics you should totally give this lotion a go!

Click to enlarge to read about lotion

Though, the one downside I have with this lotion is the smell. First of all, I have a VERY sensitive sense of smell. I swear it’s heightened for some reason. I think places, people, anything smells badly a lot of the time. This lotion does not smell bad. It has a fresh scent. My mother, who has also started to use it, says it smells fruity to her. Though, I get a different smell from it that I can’t really say what it is. Nothing chemical, nothing foul, it’s just a strong scent I get from one of the natural ingredients that I can’t pin point.

When I tested the smell on my hand for the first time, I thought I was going to be unable to use this lotion. However, I think something interacts with the fragrance when it’s applied over my nightly medicated topical treatments because the smell doesn’t bother me then. So, I suggest just giving this a whiff at TJ’s if you’re worried about the smell and seeing if it bothers you. I think I’m just a freak and smells bother me often, haha.

Some of the ingredients in lotion

As mentioned, this lotion is packed with lots of natural and some certified organic ingredients, which I love. And also, this product is cruelty free, yay! I had been using an Alba green tea and aloe face moisturizer pretty often, and wanted to compare the ingredients but they weren’t listed in the Alba container.

Overall, I think this moisturizer is GREAT! If you’re looking for something natural to use, if you have a Trader Joe’s near you, I say give it a try. It has a hair-trigger that pumps out the right amount of lotion to use on your face  and my skin is feeling and looking great. I have yet to see very long-term effects since I have been using it for 7 days, but my skin is looking and feeling great recently and I think this is definitely helping with that. AND I haven’t mentioned the best part…it’s $5!!

Where to Buy: Trader Joe’s / $5

– Liz

4 Comments

Filed under Make up

4 responses to “Trader Joe’s Regenerating Antioxidant Moisturizing Face Lotion

  1. this is actually the same as JASON ester-c lotion rather than Alba

    • I know Jason’s ester-c lotion also has vitamin C, but I wanted to compare the Alba I was using to the Trader Joe’s lotion for my own sake since I switched over.
      – Liz

  2. Maggi

    I had to try – due to the great price. But it is soooo smelly there is no way I could put it on my face. I’ve been using it on my feet-and even then it takes several hand washings to get the smell off my hands. Might be great if they could figure out a way to take out the strong smell. Smells like really noxious cheap perfume.

  3. I love love love this moisturizer. I picked some up in Los Angeles on a whim because, living in Minnesota, the winters dry my face out and I can’t afford the fancy creams. So far, this stuff works like a dream. My face feels supple and soft and LOOKS good too. And I actually LOVE the smell. It’s kinda citrus-y.

Leave a Reply

