Nyx: Jumbo Eye Pencil

Pure Gold

Over the past few months I’ve been hearing a lot about Nyx products and had been getting anxious to try them. I heard that the eye shadows especially were Mac-esque and so every time I went out I searched for the perfect palette to try. Newer Nyx collections don’t seem to be widely available in stores that I frequent, so I eventually just wanted to try so bad that I decided to get the Jumbo Eye Pencil in Pure Gold.

I love gold eyeliner and think it’s really pretty on everyone and who doesn’t love an inexpensive fat eyeliner in a fun shade? I couldn’t wait to try it and do really like the color. It’s probably more of a bronze-y, orange gold than a yellow gold, so it’s different than other gold eyeliners/shadows I have.

orange-y gold

So while I do like the color, I’ll admit the first time I wore this eyeliner I ended up being pretty disappointed. I often just wear eyeliner and mascara, which was the case both times I used the Nyx pencil, and when I’m doing that kind of quick make up, I generally don’t feel the need for eye primer. Well when I wore Pure Gold it was gone in less than 2 hours. I mean I put it on and the next time I looked in the mirror you could barely see it! I don’t have particularly oily lids so I honestly could not find a reason why this would fade so quickly! I didn’t wear it for awhile after that because of the enormous let down, but I knew I had to try it again with primer to see if that would help.

with primer

My Tarte eye primer did wonders for Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil. With a base, it’s able to stay on for a respectable amount of time. I’m still kind of disappointed because I want this kind of eyeliners generally for quick, no fuss looks where I wouldn’t bother using primer. I’m not sure if I’ll end up buying another one unless I really like the color… and they do have lots of fun colors! The nice thing about Nyx products is that they are really inexpensive. I still want to try the eye shadows when I find the right palette and I think I’ll be more satisfied with those, but rest assured I won’t even attempt it without an eye primer.

Where to Buy: Ulta / Online retailers / $4.50ish

Happy Saturday!

-Lauren

3 Comments

Filed under Make up

3 responses to “Nyx: Jumbo Eye Pencil

  1. Mer

    You probably had trouble wearing this as eyeliner because… Its not eyeliner. Theyre jumbo shadow pencils-you’ll note that it doesnt say “eyeliner” in the description. Theyre meant to be used over agood primer like urban decay primer potion or two faced shadow insurance. You use them like you would a mac paint pot, spread them out over the eyelid, not too thick or it wii crease. Then, youd put shadow over them- theyll help bring out the color of the shadow. Of course, you can use them as liner if you want, but dont expect them to work like normal eyeliner, because thats not what they are. Hope this helps.

    • Honestly I wouldn’t have expected trouble from this used as an eyeliner or eyeshadow. No matter where on your eye you apply it, you apply it the same way. Since it just says “eye” pencil, I would expect its uses to reach beyond one option. I don’t see it as any different from using a regular powder eyeshadow as an eyeliner. Like I said, there were no issues at all once I applied it over a primer. I will say I am used to products applied without primer lasting at least 4 hours or so although it may not always look pretty. I definitely caught on quickly that it needed primer, but other than that it does work just like a normal eyeliner.
      -Lauren

  2. MakeupByKimB

    This color looks good, I have it in gold, just did a post on it. I use mine as a eye shadow and eyeliner depending on the look! (:

Leave a Reply

