OPI: Y’all Come Back Ya Hear?

Y'all Come Back Now Ya Hear

What can I say, the name of this polish for me is rough. I pretty much can’t stand it as a polish name. However, objectively as a nail polish, I’ve got no problems with it.

I was on the hunt for a good orange last summer, and it wasn’t easy to find. I landed on Orly’s Truly Tangerine which I like. And is pretty much the same color as this polish. However, it’s a creme and these sorbets are really pulling at my heart strings, so this might be my best true orange.

Y'all Come Back Now Ya Hear

Y’all Come Back Now Ya Hear is a bright, poppy, Texas orange. Everything you could want from an orange polish. It screams summer. Though, I feel like some polish freaks have some issues with VNL and the slight sheerness of these sorbets. For this manicure I guess technically I ended up doing four coats. After I applied my initial first coat of polish, I basically added another one right on top of it right away. And then applied two thicker coats and my VNL is barely there and the color and finish look great.

Close up sorbet finish

For me, I love the cleanness of these sorbet finishes. When you’re done applying your polish, you have a perfect, even, glassy, professional looking finish. Sometimes with cremes and jellies I get patchiness (mostly my own fault) or streaking, little things that I notice that bother me. Or when you wear a cream for a few days and get all those tiny hairline cracks at the tips? I HATE that! That doesn’t happen with this finish either.

With the sorbet finish of the Texas OPI’s I get a perfect finish with minimal effort. The polish does the work for me. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

Where to Buy: Ulta / Dillards / JCPenny / Trade Secret / Online Retailers / $8.50

I can’t wait to get my paws on most (or probably all..) of this collection. What’s your favorite from the Texas OPI’s?

– Liz

7 Comments

Filed under OPI

7 responses to “OPI: Y’all Come Back Ya Hear?

  1. kristina

    Ok very weird I came across your blog only to realize I know you guys! Haven’t seen you in years though. Anyways, nice blog.

    Have you seen the china glaze shatter polishes around Chicago at all? I haven’t been able to find them so far and I’m intrigued since I became disinterested in my Barry M shatter… I figure some different shades might rope me back in.

    • Kristina, Kristina? Hey! And thanks! I’m glad to hear you also love nail polish, haha.
      I think you should be able to find them out and about this weekend. I haven’t gone looking yet because I don’t really know if I’m going to like any other than the black. I feel like mixing colors and making them not look super like, 80’s will be hard. Though, I’m excited about the silver coming out, I think that will be easier for cool color combos.
      – Liz

  2. kristina

    I know what you mean about finding color combos that don’t end up looking tacky. And now that you mention 80’s every time I look at shatter swatches I’m going to think they look like zubaz! I’m still going to pick up the gray (and maybe the teal) and see what I could do w/ that.

  3. I have this shade and I love it! I also have “Suzy loves cowboys” which is a dark brown and that is my favourite shade from Texas collection!

    • This polish and color is really nice, I love it.

      You know, I don’t have a dark brown creme polish. Suzy Loves Cowboys caught my eye, maybe I should get around to picking it up!
      – Liz

  4. Really pretty! I’m still hesitating if I’ll buy it or not…but your swatches look great! It goes well with your skin tone!

Leave a Reply

