Essie: Lilacism

soft purple creme

Hello everyone! I know that “Snowpocalypse”/”Snowmageddon” is happening everywhere, but not on my nails because I was feeling Springy. I decided to bring out one of my favorite springtime polishes from last year: Essie Lilacism. Lilacism is from the “Art of Spring” collection 2010. It’s a soft, pastel, muted purple… lilac to be exact.

I loved this color last spring and wore it a few times, it’s probably one of the only times I will wear pastel. In some lights the lilac almost appears like a soft grey, which makes it really easy to wear and doesn’t make it look like you’ve dipped your nails in candy coloring like a lot of pastels make me feel.

Although it’s not snowing here, it’s been very dark out so it has been difficult for me to get good lighting for pictures. I apologize if this looks darker than you’ve seen in other swatches, it’s actually fairly light. At least it was light for me in 2 coats, I wanted something on the lighter, more neutral side so I stopped at 2, although I think it would be greater and much more purple in 3. I also went with 2 coats over 3 because the formula was kind of thin. I don’t remember it being thin the last time I used it, however.

darker shot

The wear has been nice so far, no tip wear or chips at all in the first 24 hours. I think this polish is also a nice palette cleanser. If you love purple I think this is a must have. It’s a really great spring color and, now that I think about it, works for winter as well. I’ll be honest, from what I’ve seen from Essie’s 2011 spring collections, I wish they had a little more to offer, especially after loving last year’s spring collections.

Where to Buy: Ulta / Essie / Salons / $8

Hope you’re all staying indoors painting your nails!

-Lauren

2 Comments

Filed under Essie

2 responses to “Essie: Lilacism

  1. BMR

    Can I be honest? I didn’t particularly care for this. I wanted this so badly when I saw swatches of it last Spring and when I finally got it and put it on…didn’t love it. I still really like the look of it, just not on my nails.

    • I can definitely see that, I usually feel this way about pastels. If you still own it, you should try it again this year only maybe put a top coat of something over it, adding a little sparkle to the lilac might change your mind 🙂 I have a multi-color glitter that I’ve been thinking about wearing with Lilacism.

      -Lauren

Leave a Reply

