A peak at OPI Spring/Summer Texas 2011

OPI Texas Summer / Spring 2011

(In Order Left to Right)

  • Don’t Mess With OPI
  • Suzy Loves Cowboys
  • San Tan-tonio
  • Austin-Tatious Turquoise
  • It’s Totally Fort-Worth It
  • I Vant To Be A Lone Star
  • Do You Think I’m Tex-y?
  • Houston We Have A Purple
  • Too Pink To Hold ‘Em
  • Y’all Come By Now You Hear?
  • Big Hair Big Nails
  • Guy Meets Gal-Veston

So..How are you guys feeling about this collection? Do you find the names as annoying as I do? I don’t really want to be telling someone that I have “Guy Meets Gal-Veston” on my nails. Some of the names aren’t too bad. I do like “It’s Totally Fort-Worth it” and “Houston We Have A Purple.”

I also keep telling myself that once we see actual, good swatches of these colors we might all really like the collection. But, I’m not sure it’s really going to be a winner for me. You never know though, colors and collections grow on me the more I think about them and see them. But none of the colors seem too new or fresh. Just mainly summertime cremes.

Even though I’m not that into football, I think a Dallas Cowboy’s blue would have fit into the collection. But I’m glad there’s at least a Longhorns orange is in there. That’s totally Texas.

Ad for OPI Texas

I’m not sure if you all have seen the print ads for this collection in magazines or anywhere else recently. But I am not a fan of the styling or anything about the ads. Something about the model and styling seems completely fake and not actually Texas. And just kinda bad? That’s not working for me either.

Though, if I lived in Texas I’d probably buy the entire collection just because!

Where to Buy: OPI Texas collection will be available at retailers February 2nd / $8.50

– Liz

6 Comments

Filed under OPI

6 responses to “A peak at OPI Spring/Summer Texas 2011

  1. Rachel

    I like the names! Especially “Big Hair…Big Nails,” of course. I like the colors but I’m not blown away…but it’s hard to tell what they truly look like with this image. I think it may be computer generated versus a real photo and that’s why. At least, that’s what it looks like to me. The model photo looks kind of Texas… big hair, boots (weird boots?), jean shorts, big belt. It could be WAAAY better though. I look forward to seeing these colors in person.

    • I know, these computer images are never the best. But at least it gives you some sort of idea what’s going to be in the collection.
      I like the model’s big hair obviously! But yeah, it seems like they took things that are “Texas” clothing but like, I don’t know. It’s just slightly off to me. I guess I agree with that it just could have been way better.
      – Liz

  2. I think the colors are very nice. Not original, but very nice. I hope that some have a dimension, shimmer or finish that isn’t translating through their images. As for the model pic, what? Does not compute. That doesn’t say Texas to me at all. Thanks so much for posting this. I love to see the whole collection.

    • I am also wondering about the finish on some of these. I actually do think that most are cremes from what I have read. Although without an swatches none of us fanatics can really tell!
      It completely does not compute! They have a bunch of promo ads I saw on OPI.com and none of them were working for me at all.
      – Liz

  3. I’m British and live in Texas and I only bought Do You Think I’m Tex-y? and Houston We Have A Purple… I’m really liking them so far, but I have a soft spot for jelly/sorbet finishes! ❤

    • I LOVE the sorbet finish so much. I am literally obsessed and want everyone from this Texas collection. They are great! And I can’t wait to get my paws on those two polishes!
      – Liz

Leave a Reply

