Essie: Playa Del Platinum

Brrr

I’m going to be honest, guys. I’ve been having a difficult time the past 5 or so days with my polish collection. Nothing has been of interest to me. And I know this partially has to do with the fact that I realized I haven’t bought any new polish in like, 3 weeks. But I think for the rest of this week I’m going to do some fun holiday colors and try to get back into the swing of things.

Until then, I retreated back to my beloved Playa Del Platinum from Essie’s Resort Collection of ’10 for a nail palette cleanser. (Funny this “beach” polish is in the snow, huh?) I could see many people thinking this color is strange or boring but I completely love it for its subtlety. This creme polish is very earthy and calming. I don’t have any lighter / tan neutrals that look similar to this one. It reminds me almost of clay or something. It’s not very brown at all. It’s more grey and sandy.

Playa Del Platinum

The application on this polish is fine. It’s slightly thin and streaky, but many times that happens with me and Essie’s. I ended up doing three coats to even everything out, but the drying time wasn’t bad so it wasn’t a pain in the butt. I also for some reason see a tinge of green in this polish. Like, more of an olive green. This color is really awesome. And would really compliment a nice dark party dress for a complete look.

I know this is an older topic, but still one of importance to me. I’m one of the nail polish / beauty fanatics that has sort of taken a step back from Essie since its recent purchase by L’Oreal due to their animal testing policy. Although, some brands that are owned by L’Oreal do not test on animals and I tend to find the line to be sort of blurry on why some brands owned by L’Oreal wouldn’t test on animals while some would. You think a huge company like that would have set policies. I actually think we might hear more from Essie on this topic in the future, but until then I’d rather be safe than sorry. I know my dog Misha would approve!

Woof!,

– Liz

Leave a comment

Filed under Essie

Leave a Reply

