China Glaze Holiday: Little Drummer Boy

Ugh, let me just say that the weather here in Chicago was not working well with taking swatches today. It’s sunny, but not really, I feel like I can only get photos before or around noon or else it just doesn’t work. But these are the best I could do. What I really need is a new camera. Anywho..

Little Drummer Boy is a beautiful dark blue. It’s similar to a midnight blue but seems almost richer in a way. The shimmer within the polish really makes me want to call it midnight blue. It’s also difficult to tell what color the shimmer is? It seems as though it might be the same color as the base color, and it also might have shimmer that is slightly lighter than the base color. This color is very unique even though a “midnight blue shimmer” doesn’t sound that original, I don’t own any colors that close to this blue. It’s a darker, deeper color than say, Essie Midnight Cami.

Partly Sunny

The application and formula on this polish was insane. It could have possibly been a one coater, but I did a pretty poor job applying today because I was in a rush and excited. The formula was smooth like butter and fully saturated. Also, once you add your top coat to this color all the shimmer comes shining through like you’re out in the sun. You really see the depth and how pretty it is. Though there is sort of silver / metallic finish on this polish that I don’t know how to describe since there’s no silver in the shimmer or anything. It’s faint, but you can see it in the bottle as well. Something about this color reads “velvet” to me.

Is anyone as excited about this China Collection as I am? All of the colors are really cool and interesting!

– Liz

4 Comments

Filed under China Glaze

4 responses to “China Glaze Holiday: Little Drummer Boy

  1. corissa

    i am just as excited. i already have 4 of the polishes and plan on getting more of them!

  2. Scientific Housewife

    I purchased the Party Hearty set and I can’t wait to wear all the colors!

    • Me too! I don’t know what it is about all of this collection, but they are so awesome! I think China Glaze has really been on point with their recent collections and I have become a huge fan.
      – Liz

Leave a Reply

