Nars: Purple Rain

Back in June, I picked up Nars Versailles and Purple Rain on a Sephora binge. I blogged about Versailles right away. I used a base coat and Seche Vite top coat and my mani was ruined in under 2 hours, the polish didn’t wear well at all period. I read the packaging and it seemed like Nars polish was supposed to be a one-step deal. I said that the next time I used Nars polish, I wouldn’t do base or top coats. I finally got around to using Purple Rain and here are the results:

In the shade

The application was fine, no issues there. The color is a dark purple with a deep shimmer, pink/purple glitter. This picture was taken the day after I painted. Do you see how DULL the color looks? I don’t think it’s me. I wanted to see the glitter! You can barely tell it’s there. I already have tip wear, which continued to get worse and it got so scratched and dented after a day of wear. One plus is that on day 2, I don’t really have any chips, just tip wear and a dull mani. Still, for what these cost I expect more. I don’t want to look at scratches and dents, I want to enjoy wearing a polish.

Glitter?

You get a better shot of the glitter in this pic. I really wanted this color to be magical. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a beautiful color, but every time I look down at my nails, I just see purple, nothing special. I’m going to give this another shot with a top coat that isn’t Seche and see how it goes. I’m really hoping it works out because I can’t see myself dropping any more money on Nars nail polish if they look great in the bottle, but not on my nails and I can’t wear base or top coats with them.

At least it’s almost Friday,

-Lauren

Leave a comment

Filed under Nars

Leave a Reply

