Essie: Jelly Apple

Jelly Apple

I picked up Essie’s Jelly Apple recently when I saw it at Belinda’s. There has been a lot of hype in the past about how this is a favorite red and being a lover of reds, I felt it was a necessary addition to my collection. I have to admit, it’s not my most favorite red. I really enjoy the color and the jelly finish, but wearing this polish the past couple days hasn’t been all fun.

First, let’s talk about the application. This is 3 coats, in the first coat it looks sheer and pinkish and I wasn’t really satisfied with 2 so I went for the 3. It went on fine, not runny or streaky. The color is a bright, fun red. From far away it even reads as kind of a hot orange.

My biggest problem with this polish is that the finished, dried nail feels so soft. Luckily, I took this picture right after application. I found this mani so easy to dent and scratch that by today I could barely stand to look at it because it was no longer jelly and shiny it was just dull and chipped and scratched. I used Seche Vite as the top coat and maybe I could try it again with a different top coat, but this definitely wasn’t a long wear for me.

The pros of Jelly Apple are color, shine, fun factor, the cons are that you shouldn’t plan on this being your mani for the week because it won’t look good that long.

Happy early hump day!

-Lauren

Leave a comment

Filed under Essie

Leave a Reply

