CND Jason Wu: Veronica

This nail polish makes me think of comics. Why? Because I loved Archie comics and the two female characters were Betty and Veronica. I used to collection them and have hundreds. I obviously loved Veronica because she looked like me. So, Veronica will forever draw that connection. Nerd!

I haven’t seen many swatches of this CND Jason Wu collection yet. I have really been appreciating neutrals lately and wanted to beef up my CND collection. So, this collabo fit the bill nicely. The set comes with 4 full sized polishes and 1 CND Effects polish.

Closest to actual color. Gorgeous, deep red.

I need to start off by saying, I LOVE this polish. I don’t like reds and this has me wrapped around its finger. Jason Wu describes Veronica as “a pomegranate seed tone.” It is deep and richly red like a pomegranate. It has a certain darkness to it that is stunning. It also has both blue and brown undertones in it, so it’s pretty much perfect! This photo is most color accurate; it captures its deep hue. It’s almost oxblood red but with duo cool / warm undertones. Just gorgeous.

Glossy, saturated and perfectly pigmented

The formula on this was absolute perfection. It was SO smooth and buttery, it almost didn’t need my help to apply itself to my nails. It was so rich and pigmented on the first coat, I barely needed a second. It was a touch runny, but it was easily spreadable. The finish on this polish was full of high shine, and it’s slightly squishy. It’s among the half jelly / half creme hybrid taking over.

Where to Buy: CND.com / $47 (PSST! – I got mine off of Transdesign.com for $23!!)

Are you interested in this collabo? Did the neutral collection turn you off or on?¬†¬†Have you heard about how WEIRD the effect top coat is? It’s suppose to be “tweed” inspired (cool idea) but looks like hair in your manicure! No thanks.

I wanted to mention that the packaging of this collection is really nice. It also comes with a cool little flipbook about Jason Wu’s inspiration for the polishes and some other info. I’ll post some pictures of it with the next polish I wear from the set. Sorry I forgot!

- Liz

Leave a comment

Filed under CND

Leave a Reply

