Deborah Lippmann: Across The Universe

Hopefully everyone had a nice weekend. It’s currently 80 degrees outside right now, a nice surprise to my birthday weekend, it’s never this warm this time of year. All the spring flowers have started to bloom, yay!

My sister gave me this lovely polish this weekend. I recently posted about the only other Deborah Lippmann polish that I have, Call Me Irresponsible, and even though I didn’t have a positive opinion about that polish, I was so excited to receive this beauty! Across The Universe is like a dream to any polish lover.

Blue jelly with green and blue hexagon glitter

I’m not satisfied with these photos, it’s so much better in real life! I know many polish lovers have raved the beauty and awesomeness of this polish since it was released for the Fall 2010 duo. But it seriously deserves it. I mean, just look at it! A navy blue jelly base with green and light blue hexagon glitter AND blue micro glitter?? I love how dark the base color is, it allows the glitter to just come through and stand out.

To die for!

It’s almost obvious when I say that I don’t have anything like this polish. It’s too unique and gorgeous. Though, I won’t be fully blinded by its beauty. It is slightly difficult to get the hexagon glitter to disperse evenly. And in the sunlight, this jelly base isn’t fully opaque. Probably my fault with the application. (I’m not feeling too well, I think I have a stomach bug!) I used three coats, and each coat dried quicker than expected! And not very gritty at all to the touch.

Regardless I will say that this polish is a hands down must have for anyone who collects polish. It’s so beautiful, like a work of art. I can’t stop staring at the bottle!

Where to Buy: Lippmancollection.com / Nordstrom’s / Neiman Marcus / $ 16

For my birthday, my mom made me a homemade pound cake with maple whipped cream per my request. SO GOOD :)

Go Hawks!,

Liz

15 Comments

Filed under Deborah Lippmann

15 responses to “Deborah Lippmann: Across The Universe

  1. Happy birthday! That polish is GORGEOUS, and that cake looks yummy :P

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! and wow i love this polish, so freaking gorj! yum, now i want some delicious cake :)

  3. CrankyPants

    Mermaids would wear this polish, looks gorgeous.

  4. meme

    Happy b’day (belated). Glad it was a great one!
    I ADORE this polish and need to find somewhere I can purchase it. There is a mall about 250 miles from here that has a pretty big beauty supply in it that does carry D. Lippmann. I need this one and one other (thinking you reviewed it recently – I have to go looking – it was an ethereal ‘shy’ blue with chunky glitter and fine glitter in it that would look great over and under other polishes. I missed this one by a few $’s on eBay awhile back. It went too high for me. Glad to know you can still get this shade on the retail market!

    • Hey Meme,
      Thank you!

      250 miles?! You need to make a fun weekend beauty trip out of that since it’s so far! Have you tried ordering DL polishes from lippmanncollections.com? They have most every color available for online ordering. Paying for shipping sucks, but it’ll be way less than gas! Across The Universe is currently sold out, but Glitter In The Air is available to be purchase.
      – Liz

      • meme

        Thanks Liz – Certainly paying for shipping is way cheaper than gas is esp right now. Plus I am disabled so a day of shopping when I get to places 250 miles, I need to plan for major oomph that is not always there for me. Once I can transport my electric chair again, it will make life thrills (to me they are thrills – even the smallest little window shopping go for it trip 15 miles away), I will be able to get around more reliably. But as you said, with gas going up and up, paying for shipping seems a drop in the bucket. We are up to $4.36/gal for regular where I live in Central CA now. CA is a lot higher than many places in the US.

        I will have to go back and look at the DL.com site. I thought when I looked both Glitter in the Air & Across the Universe were out of stock, but maybe they did have the former and I jumped back to my search looking for a place I could get both in the same shipping fee.

        You guys are great! Love if anyone sees these 2 in stock where they will mail them out to let me know. Neither DL nor beauty.com have a notification system to alert the want to be buyer when stock is back in on an item like say Sephora, Urban Decay and other sites do. Ummmm. I should write drugstore.com/beauty.com and suggest it would be a boon to them to add that to their site. I KNOW I would buy a lot more items soon as they tell me something I want is in. I would go through my entire saved list on their site and drop a bunch of other things into my cart! Meme

    • Just butting in… you can also buy D. Lippmanns from beauty.com, they are affiliated with drugstore.com so you can get a bunch of things and do a single checkout for both sites. They are pretty up to date on the D.L. collections, same price, and free shipping is really easy to get, only $25-$30, I think :)

      -Lauren

      • meme

        Thanks Lauren. Right after I posted this I went ‘a Googling.’ I saw right off the main DL site looked at it, see that you can order direct off that site which surprised me. But alas they were out of this and Glitter in the Air, the other DL that I really fell hard for. I have used drugstore.com a # of times in the past. Very happy with their service, fast delivery. They are adding products all the time now to the beauty.com side it seems. They also were out of stock on both of these polishes. But seems they each are going to hang around for a time at least. So maybe I will be able to nail a bottle of each via beauty.com or the DL site directly once stock in both comes back in. I have the perfect pale blue to put under “Glitter In The Air.” So I am a lady in waiting (and wanting big time!!!). I also for others who are reading, recommend beauty.com/drugstore.com. It’s got lots of deals on both discounts and shipping. Well worth everyone’s time to sign up for their email alerts to get the news when they are having promos. They seem to have a $25 or > total purchase price free ship at least once a month – more if you are on their list as they send out incentives to shop their site to those on their email list. Would LOVE if anyone else reading this sees either of these 2 shades in stock somewhere and would come back to post here. I have about 10 GOT to get, driving me insane shades and these 2 are on the tops of that list! Meme

  5. SisterLes

    I am butting in as well…don’t know if MeMe will read this, but http://www.zappos.com has lippman and they have free shipping plus they usually upgrade it to get there really quickly. Just a suggestion!

    • meme

      I did catch this SisterLes. I used that handy check box to send yourself an email if anyone replied to my post. I guess my on-line shopping tends to default to eBay and QVC 90% of the time. I did go over to zappos (thought they only had shoes – silly me). They do have the one DL Over the Universe and in stock. Thanks so much. You guys are all great!

  6. ASH

    We’ve gotta incorporate this for my Shedd manicure, right? Please 0:)

  7. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great article.

Leave a Reply

